LGBTQ Resources: Video/Audio Collections

Kanopy streaming video offers a wide selection of LGBTQ Cinema and also documentary style film. Access to GFCMSU students, faculty and staff only.

StoryCorps is an independent nonprofit whose mission is to provide Americans of all backgrounds and beliefs with the opportunity to record, share, and preserve the stories of our lives. Since 2003, over 50,000 everyday people have interviewed family and friends through StoryCorps. Each conversation is recorded on a free CD to share, and with the permission of the participants is preserved at the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.

Audio collection: Gay members of the Armed Forces have had to live with an extra layer of discretion and professionalism. Here are stories of men and women who served their country while balancing the need to keep their private lives private.

While military service oftentimes demands sacrifices from those in uniform, historically, LGBT veterans have faced a unique set of challenges. For many of these veterans, following a call to serve meant keeping their private lives entirely private, for fear that exclusionary policies would hold them back or end their careers altogether. Here, we present stories of LGBT veterans who served from the WWII era to the present, that illustrate these veterans’ bravery, honesty, and unwavering dedication to their country.

The American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB), a collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH Boston, provides the public with access to a collection of American public radio and television content dating back to the 1950s.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. “Herstories: Audio/Visual Collections” contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection.

The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.