Skip to Main Content

LGBTQ Resources: Journal Articles/Database Research

Helpful Search Terms

When searching the databases, it's helpful to use simple keywords. Here are a few to get started...

  • Agender
  • Asexual
  • Bisexuality / Bisexuals 
  • Civil rights 
  • Coming out
  • Gay culture
  • Gay identity
  • Gay men 
  • Gay parents 
  • Gay youth 
  • Gender affirming surgery
  • Gender fluid
  • Gender identity 
  • Hate crimes
  • Heteronormativity
  • Heterosexism
  • Homophobia
  • Homosexuality
  • Intersectionality
  • Lesbian
  • LGBT
  • LGBT communities
  • LGBT rights
  • Marriage equality
  • Pansexual
  • Queer
  • Same-Sex Marriage
  • Sexual Deviation
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Social inequality
  • Transgender 
  • Transphobia
  • Transsexuals
  • Transsexualism
  • Two-spirit

​Search Tips:

Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:

Example:
   gay or homosexual   (finds either term)
   lgbt or lgbtq
   homopho*   (finds homophobia, homophobic, etc.)

Find less (narrow your results) with AND:

Example:
   lesbian and adoption   (finds both terms)

Find less with NOT:

Example:
   gay adoption not lesbian   (excludes records that mention lesbian)

Databases

Use the resources below to begin locating full-text articles online for your research!

Access one of the library databases below by clicking the linked resource. If you are off-campus, enter your D2L (NetID) log-in credentials to log in.  If you need assistance or troubleshooting help with this, please use the chat service on the library web page, or call us at: (406)771-4398  ​

Academic Search Complete - Academic Search Complete is a full-text and bibliographic database with coverage of the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.

Credo Reference - Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.

ERIC  - The ERIC Database is a bibliographic and abstracts database covering the field of education from 1966-present. It includes citations and abstracts to educational journal articles (from the Current Index to Journals in Education [CIJE]) and educational documents (from the Research in Education [RIE]. Many of the educational documents are available online with older ones available in the basement microform room by their ED number. ERIC is also available directly on the Web at eric.ed.gov version but without any information about MSU Bozeman journal holdings. Updated monthly.

JSTOR - Contains the full-text of dozens of core scholarly journals in the humanities. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. However, it does not include the most recent few years of issues. This is a rolling date range which varies by journal.
 
Opposing Viewpoints in Context - an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Specific Magazines/Journals Online (see individual title for access)