Open Educational Resources (OER) and Creative Commons: Teaching Materials

high quality video, audio, transcripts, and course materials from a select group of courses from Yale University

syllabi, lectures, exams, and other course resources from universities all over the world. Including MIT, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Tufts University, UMass Boston, University of California Irvine, University of Notre Dame, Utah State University, and many more from Austrailia, China, Columbia, France, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain, Taiwan, United Kingdom, Vietnam. Most in English, but some in Spanish, Chinese, French, and Dutch.

Creative Commons licensed eduational "modules", sponsored by Rice University

Tens of thousands of learning modules, tutorials, readings, videos, textbooks, etc., all available (check licensing) for educational use.

K-12 and college lesson plans and courseware.

resources and links from a number of open education sites, including the various OpenCourseWare projects. Especially aimed at resources for developing countries.

Biology Teacher Resources from Baylor College of Medicine. Includes presentations, PowerPoint slides, news, resources, and "hot topic" guides.

audio collections, some including lesson plans and educational exercises.

many resources on education techology. Especially see the "Distributed Education" section which includes distance education and online classes. You can also Search from the search link in the lefthand column.

a peer-reviewed collection of multimedia teaching resources for health education

links to projects using Creative Commons licensing for educational materials

Curricular and educational resources provided freely and openly. Mostly K-12, but some college resources (and some of the high school resources are suitable for college levels.)

"The Chemistry Collective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, and concepts tests which can be incorporated into a variety of teaching approaches as pre-labs, alternatives to textbook homework, and in-class activities for individuals or teams. It is organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon University for college and high school teachers who are interested in using, assessing, and/or creating engaging online activities for chemistry education."

Free and open courses (or course segments) for independent learning or for supplementing existing courses

Thousands of open access resources in an extremely wide variety of subjects.

Community driven, noncredit, open courses.

Online modules for grade 5-12 level science education. Requires teacher and student signup.

Curricula from Gen Ed to Mechanical Engineering using open educational resources. Now includes a Media Library of open educational resources.

Materials in English and Spanish are available from this Mexico-based collection.

A tool for collecting and using OER materials

Free registration required to access the video, audio, and other resources at this preK-16 learning from the Public Broadcasting Service.

Short videos on everything from math and finance to French history.

A blog covering teaching ideas with the Library of Congress' online collections.

The Open High School of Utah now has a full suite of 9th & 10th grade courses (English, Math, Social Studies, Science, & electives); 20 course as of Sept 2011.

Online study groups, based on MIT's Open Courseware materials

A European based project collecting learning resources in management, from accounting to technology management. A majority of the materials are in English or Spanish, but most European languages are included. Searchable by keyword or browsable/filterable by language, format, type, category, competency, and repository.

Open courses developed and adapted by Washington State Colleges (and funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation)

Wisconsin's state learning object collection

Learning objects developed and used by Maricopa Community Colleges

Owned and sponsored by Capella University, Sophia now has over 25,000 tutorials on basic topics, rated by content and instructional experts.

Audiobook versions of literature specifically arranged and categorized for teachers of literature. Some reading strategy/lesson plan materials available as well.

Over 35 languages and (British) English as a foreign language.

Readings, resources, exercises, etc. for a basic health class

Lesson plans, videos, and more for teachers and students. Also available are podcasts of the weekly show, videos, and blog posts on pretty much anything to do with science.

A policy document explaining how open educational resources can improve teaching and learning in higher education.

Another of EDUCAUSE's excellent "7 Things" series

University of Michigan's process for taking existing classroom materials and turning them into open educational resources

Free and open textbooks suitable for community college (and lower level undergraduate) courses