Open Educational Resources (OER) and Creative Commons: Journals

over 5000 scholarly (though not necessarily peer reviewed) journals with full access to all issues. About half of these are searchable by article keywords, but the rest are only accessible via journal title or subject.

over 900 resources, mostly popular, trade, and news magazines. Some "premium" content requiring trial subscriptions to fee-based collections. There is a "free only" search check box. NOTE: Many of the Premium articles are available in our full text databases; use the Journal Locator to locate the full text.

All articles published in Elsevier open access journals are peer reviewed and upon acceptance will be immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download. It is worth noting that authors pay a fee ranging from $500-$5,000 to publish in these journals.

Google's answer to article databases includes journal tables of contents from several major publishers, and "scholarly" content from the open web, but it is not a good Open Access discovery tool. While Google Scholar creates a good index, full text may not be directly available. Before paying for any article found via Google Scholar, be sure to check in the Weaver Library Full-Text Journal Finder to see if the full text is available.

a list of journals published in association with Highwire Press that have at least some full text available for free, including temporary trial access.

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

The MIT Open Access Articles collection consists of scholarly articles written by MIT-affiliated authors that are made available through DSpace@MIT under the MIT Faculty Open Access Policy, or under related publisher agreements.

The collection of a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries, including digitized books and journals. Especially strong in 19th century writings. See BioStor (below) for additional searching options.

over 100 Open Access journals in the life sciences and medicine. Also searchable via PubMed:

Search interface and tools for the Biodiversity Heritage Library (see above) and related resources. Citation searches, EndNote, Zotero, and Mendeley integration, etc.

papers in psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, computer science, philosophy, biology, and other disciplines related to cognitive science.

E-prints in information and library science

journal articles, technical and conference papers in disciplines of interest to the US Department of Energy.

Online chemistry journals available either in full or in a trial. Separate lists for educational and Russian journals.

Earth and space sciences articles, papers, presentations, etc.

Directory of full text medical journals which have some freely accessible content.

Scanned historic US newspapers from 1836-1920, and a US newspaper directory, make up this collection from the Library of Congress.

A developing open access project in folklore studies. The project itself is still in development, but there are links to the existing online collections in each category.

a digital archive of biomedical literature, sponsored and maintained by the National Library of Medicine. Some very recent material may be indexed before the online access is available. Full text articles are linked directly from the PubMed version of MEDLINE.

abstracts and full papers primarily from the Department of Energy programs and projects, covering most areas of science and science policy.

Search the technical and report literature from many of the science-related agencies of the US federal government, such as the Department of Energy and the EPA.

PLOS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals. The journals vary in their selectivity and contain differing amounts of commentary articles from opinion leaders in a variety of scientific disciplines.The journals are editorially independent.

Scirus is a search engine devoted to science subjects. On the advanced search page, you can limit your search to articles. If you also uncheck the "All journal sources" box, you will get only web based materials, including many full text articles in institutional repositories, such as University of Toronto's T-Space. (To search the journal literature covered by the "All journal sources", log in to the SCSU database ScienceDirect with a lot of full text available by our subscription.)

abstracts and full papers both submitted by the authors and harvested from partner publishers' databases. Topics include Accounting, Economics, Information Systems, Legal Scholarship, Management, Marketing, Negotiation, and Social Insurance. Search by keyword or browse by topic. Some articles are pay-for-access.