Goldman Sachs 10KSB: Open Access Business and Market Research Resources

(Administered by State Workforce Innovation Board) 

The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) Title I Adult program provides resources to enable workers to obtain or retain good jobs by providing them with workforce services such as job assistance, career guidance, and training opportunities. The Adult program is designed to:

• Help employers meet their workforce needs by connecting them to skilled workers.
• Provide eligible adults with basic and individualized career services and the training services necessary to obtain good jobs.
• Prioritize provision of these services to recipients of public assistance; other low-income individuals; and individuals who are basic skills deficient.
• Must be 18 years of age or older. · Must be able to work in the United States or are a US citizen. · If male, must be registered with Selective Service.

This federal tax credit and incentive program enables new employees to move gradually from economic dependency to self-sufficiency as they earn a steady income and become contributing taxpayers.  In addition, participating employers are compensated by a reduction in their federal income tax liability.  The number of qualifying new hires is unlimited.  The tax credit is available to for-profit and tax-exempt organizations who hire job seekers from one of the following target groups:

• Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF)
• Qualified Veterans
• Qualified Disabled Veterans
• Qualified Unemployed Veterans
• Qualified Ex-felons
• Qualified Designated Community Resident
• Qualified Vocational Rehabilitation recipient
• Qualified Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP)/Food Stamps recipient
• Qualified Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipient
• Long-time Family Assistance (AFDC/TANF) recipient

The HELP-Link Workforce Development Grant Program helps employers defray costs of hiring or employing HELP-Link eligible clients and is intended to allow the client to obtain new or improved employment, obtain a job with healthcare coverage, earn a wage that allows them to purchase their own healthcare coverage, or improve their long-term financial security.  Grants may be awarded in one or more of the following categories:

• Employer provides permanent increased hourly wage for the purpose of employee retention.
• Employer purchases training (or testing) for the purpose of upgrading employee skills.
• Employer provides health care insurance sufficient to disenroll employee from Montana Medicaid.
• Employer provides the employee with work related tools, equipment, and/or attire normally a requirement of the employee to purchase/provide themselves. 

IWT is a grant funding resource, helping to off-set a portion of skills-based training costs for incumbent (existing) workers employed by Montana's private sector. Businesses must demonstrate that training will increase the worker's skill-level, result in a promotion or wage gain, or expand their business market/increase business revenue with the intent of preserving existing jobs for Montana residents.

Funding is allocated to the Montana Department of Labor & Industry (MTDLI) on a State Fiscal Year at the discretion of the Montana Legislature and is not guaranteed. This competitive worker retention grant has $540,000 available each Fiscal Year (FY). Conditional awards provide up to $2,500/full time employee and $1,000/part-time employee.

Employers nationwide have integrated the Federal Bonding Program into their hiring practices. A total of $5,000 bond coverage is usually issued, with no deductible amount of liability for the employer. Larger bond amounts can possibly be issued by "stacking" bonds if the certified agency issuing the bonds has sufficient quantity of promotional bonds available and has determined that larger bond amounts are appropriate. The Federal Bonding Program provides important support for justice-involved individuals and other challenged job seekers, helping them secure employment and stay employed.

• Insurance to protect employer against employee dishonesty
• Covers any type of stealing: theft, forgery, larceny, and embezzlement
• In effect, a guarantee of worker job honesty
• An incentive to the employer to hire an at-risk job applicant

JGTC encourages the growth of good-paying Montana-based jobs. The credit applies to certain industries and offers a tax credit equal to 50% of employer-paid payroll taxes (FICA) for qualifying new employees.                                                                                                                

• Qualifying new employees for the credit must be hired in the tax year, employed for at least six months, be paid at least $56.150, and receive the same benefits offered to other employees.

• Qualifying projects are in the construction, natural resources, mining, agriculture, forestry, manufacturing, transportation, utilities, or outdoor recreation sectors.

The Montana Department of Labor & Industry has a number of services available by utilizing one of the 18 Job Service offices across Montana. All services offered by MT DLI are free of charge to all Montana businesses and include:

• Use of conference rooms, testing and training centers.
• Hosting of hiring and onboarding events.
• Posting and advertising of your employment openings on the US labor exchange website, in house on the job openings board, on various social media sites to include Facebook and LinkedIn, and by word-of-mouth promotion to potential job seekers coming into the Job Service office seeking employment.
• Assistance from Job Service staff with resumes, cover letters, and job applications.
• Job seekers have access to computers, printers, as well as assistance for disabled and technology challenged individuals.