LibGuides: Dental Assisting Library Resources: Finding Articles

Off Campus Access

Off campus access is available for all Great Falls College MSU faculty, staff and students. When prompted for a Username and Password, please use your NetID as your username along with your D2L password.

MSU-Bozeman and MSU-Northern students on the Great Falls campus will have to access the databases from their home library. For additional help, please see our website.

Exam Prep

Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window
With Peterson's Test and Career Prep you can prepare for standardized tests, find information on nearly 4,200 two- and four-year schools to find the right fit, view career advice tutorials, and prepare for certification, credentialing, or license exams in fields such as nursing, law enforcement, public safety, teaching, and more.

Health Sciences Related Databases

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source offers an extensive collection of important full-text dentistry journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering the nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and consumer health literature. It also includes some full-text documents. For the most recent citation, it includes PreCINAHL records, which have only limited bibliographic information (no subject indexing). Updated monthly.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects including: women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care, dentistry, children's health, and more.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Global Health is a public health database with more than 1.4 million records of which 40% are unique and over 95% contain informative abstracts. Produced by CABI Publishing, the database contains information from over 3,500 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses and electronic only publications from more than 150 countries. Subjects include: biomedical life sciences; chronic diseases; diagnosis and therapy of disease; environmental and occupational health; epidemiology and biostatistics; health promotion; health systems; infectious disease; nutrition; public health; public health emergencies; and tropical and international health.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Access full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices for researchers of all levels.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). MedlinePlus aims to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great starting place for background information on topics in any discipline. Credo Reference provides full-text articles from a range of reference sources including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Subject coverage includes: AIDS, Algology, amino acids, animal behavior, antibiotics and antimicrobials, aquatics organisms, autoimmunity, bacteriology, behavioral ecology, and bioengineering.

Electronic Journals

All electronic journals can be searched using Weaver Library's online catalog. Selected dental journals are listed below, and will contain dental-specific content.

Journal of the American Dental Association (JADA)
Available from 2011; peer-reviewed
American Dental Association News
Archive of print issues 2021-2023
Annals and Essences of Dentistry
Available from 2009
Case Reports in Dentistry
Available from 2011
Clinical and Experimental Dental Research
Available from 2015
Dental Assistant
Available from 2000
Evidence-Based Dentistry
Available from 2000. Most recent 1 year not available.
Journal of Dental Research
Available from 2009. Most recent 1 year not available. Use PubMed Central for best coverage.
Journal of Evidence Based Dental Practice
available from 2005 to present; peer-reviewed
Dental Materials
Available from 2002 to present; peer-reviewed

Open Access Electronic Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Find open access journals and articles. The Directory of Open Access Journals indexes over 16,000 open access journals in many subject areas, representing 126 different countries and published in 80 different languages, and will allow users to locate full-text access to articles.

You can use the DOAJ to search for open access dental journals. Open access means that the publisher makes journal content freely available on the web, with no paywalls or subscription necessary.